Selected Databases
If you want to access these journals from your home please log on to the VPN with your Kerberos UID and PWD before clicking on any of the links below. If you do not know whether you have a valid UCD login please go to https://accounts.ucdavis.edu/ and follow the instructions.
After connecting to the VPN you can access all licensed databases and journals.
Links to additional databases can also be found on the following pages:
- The California Digital Library maintains a list in pdf format of all the databases available to University of California users.
- Library Reference departments maintain individual lists which are broken down into more subject specific groupings.
- Find out if your favorite database has transitioned to a new vendor.
- Learn about using UC eLinks.
- Agricola
Only U.S. literature of agricultural and allied disciplines is covered. Covers only 900 journals including experiment stations. For comprehensive coverage in agriculture, search CABI abstracts and Current Contents in addition to AGRICOLA. 1970- . Silverplatter has upgraded to a new version (WebSpirs version 5) of its interface.
Unrestricted access via the National Agricultural Library
- Business Source Premier [via Ebsco]
Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 7,400 scholarly business journals and other sources, including peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes all subject areas related to business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, marketing and more.
Coverage: coverage varies by title with some going as far back as 1922.
- CABI Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts to the world agriculture literature. Covers over 11,000 journals and conference proceedings and selected books. 1972- . Silverplatter has upgraded to a new version (WebSpirs version 5) of its interface.
- Conference
Papers Index:
Major areas of coverage include agriculture, biochemistry, chemistry, chemical engineering, forestry, biology, environmental science, soil science, biotechnology, and clinical medicine. Coverage: 1982 - present.
- Dissertation Abstracts International/Dissertations & Theses [via ProQuest]
Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
Coverage: 1861 - present
Access: http://uclibs.org/PID/11984
UC Davis IP Addresses Only. (Connect From Off Campus)More Information:
- Current Research @ University of California, Davis (searches all University of California, Davis dissertations published in the Dissertation Abstracts database). http://wwwlib.umi.com/cr/ucdavis/main.
- EconLit
A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory and financial institutions; labor economics; international, regional, urban economics; and other related subjects. Coverage: 1969-present.
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU):
Country profiles and reports objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports.
Coverage: 1996-Present
- FAOSTAT
FAO statistical databases are accessed through the public site. This limits the number of records displayed per query to 4,000.
- JStor
"JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. It is dedicated to helping the scholarly community take advantage of advances in information technologies." JSTOR provides access to back files rather than recent issues of important scholarly journals and includes among its goals, building a comprehensive archive that fills missing-issue gaps in the print collections of its subscribers.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis full-text and abstracts of comprehensive news, business, and legal information.
- NTRL
National Technical Reports Library indexes the more than 2 million technical reports produced from government-sponsored research and provides full text access to the reports that have been digitized. The collection will grow as more current and older reports are digitized.
- Oxford English Dictionary
- PCI: Periodicals Contents Index
PCI Web is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed.
- Penn World Table
The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004. The data in PWT displays a set of national accounts economic time series for the countries covered. Penn World Table is a project of the Center for International Comparisons of Production, Income and Prices at the University of Pennsylvania.
- Sacramento Bee
Search and retrieve full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1985 through the previous day. Excludes advertisements and graphics.
- Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serial publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
- SourceOECD
Access to the full text of all publications of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), including the ability to view and download OECD statistical data. Multidisciplinary in subject coverage, includes monographs, periodicals, statistics and databases.
Coverage: 1998 - present, plus retrospective statistical data
- Statistical Universe
Indexes and abstracts federal government statistical publications, links to selected government statistics on the web.
- STAT-USA/Internet
"A service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government."
- Water
Resources Abstracts
Includes abstracts of current and earlier journal articles, monographs, reports, and other publication formats covering the development, management and research of water resources. Coverage: 1967 - present.
- Web of Science (Social Science Citation Index/Sciences Citation Index)
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific technical journals.
- WorldCat (via FirstSearch/OCLC)
OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide. Coverage: 1000 A.D. - present.
- World Development Indicators (WDI)
The WDI database of development data from the World Bank contains over 600 time-series indicators for 208 countries and 18 country groups. Data covers 1960 to current (when available), and offers charting and data export formats. Indicators include statistics on national and per capita income, trade, health, environment, and other measures of development.
Access: http://ddp-ext.worldbank.org/ext/DDPQQ/member.do?method=getMembers&userid=1&queryId=6
More Information:- A licensed CD-ROM version of World Development Indicators is available on selected workstations. Contact Humanities, Social Sciences and Government Information Services Department.
- The World Bank also maintains a free site, Data Query, which offers a smaller set of WDI indicators and five years of data, but uses a similar data retrieval system as WDI Online. http://ddp-ext.worldbank.org/ext/DDPQQ/member.do?method=getMembers&userid=1&queryId=135
